Charm 2024
Diamonds constitute the most popular and treasured mineral crystals, sought after for their hardness and reflective properties. The quality of the diamond, that eventually defines the value of the solitaire ring, is determined by a set of four globally accepted standards, known as the 4Cs, that examine the stone in great detail.


Denote the weight of a diamond and in general, all precious stones. In particural, 1 carat (ct) equals to 0,20 grams. The bigger the stone, the higher its price per carat is due to the scarcity of large uncut stones.


Clarity is the quality that relates to the existence and visual appearance of inclusions (small marks) in the diamond and is the main characteristic that distinguished one stone from another. The number, size, color, relative location, orientation, and visibility of inclusions can all affect the relative clarity of a diamond. A clarity grade is assigned based on the overall appearance of the stone under ten times magnification.

The clarity categories and grades according to GIA (Gemological Institute of America) are: 

IF -Internally Flawless

Completely clear. No inclusions visible under magnification.

VVS1- Very Very-Slightly-Imperfect. (1)

Has minute inclusions barely visible under magnification.

VVS2-Very-Very-Slightly- Imperfect (2)

Slightly larger inclusions.

VS1-Very Slightly Imperfect (1)

Inclusions almost invisible by the naked eye.

VS2- Very Slightly-Imperfect (2)

Inclusions very difficult to see by the naked eye.

SI1-Slightly Imperfect (1)

Larger inclusions very difficult to see by the naked eye.

SI2-Slightly Imperfect (2)

Even larger inclusions visible only under an angle.


Inclusions visible by the naked eye

I2-Imperfect (2)

Inclusions easily visible by the naked eye.

I3-Imperfect (3)

Many visible inclusions.


Below you can find an example of how diamond inclusions look:


The third characteristic refers to the natural tint inherent to white diamonds, the closer to being colorless, the rarer it is. GIA has posted a grading scale for diamonds based on color:

D = Exceptional white + (colorless)
E = Exceptional white (colorless)
F = Rare white + (very slightly colored)
G = Rare white (slightly colored)
H = White (colored)
I & J = Slightly tinted white (very faint yellow color)
K & L = Tinted white (faint yellow color)
M to R = Tinted colour (light yellow color)
S to Z = Tinted colour – yellow


The angles formed between each facet, the number of facets, the height of the crown, the height of the cone and many other ratios among the dimensions of the diamond determine the quality of the cut.
These ratios were analyzed and published by M. Tolkowsky in 1919, aiming to achieve the maximum reflection of light and brilliance in a diamond.

A diamond can be cut in any shape and size. The most popular cuts are:

Finally, as the fifth C, we can assume the Certificate, meaning the official document that accompanies the diamond and details its characteristics. A diamond is ultimate symbol of love and devotion but at the same time an investment across time due to its value and rarity. Consequently, a certificate is essential in building trust and assuring the quality of the stone during the purchase of a solitaire ring.

In addition to the diamonds available on our online store, we offer the option to select a stone of different characteristics, based on your standards, aesthetics and budget, in order to create for you a custom solitaire ring that will steal the show.

We remain at your disposal for more information or queries. You can contact us via telephone at 210.3648037 or electronically here.